How to transfer ownership

This is a method to hand control of data over to a collaborator or customer. Use it:

  • If you want to give control of your data to a collaborator
  • If you sequenced samples for a customer, for example, if you are a core lab or service provider.


For Projects:

STEP

1

Click on Transfer Owner

Select the "Projects" icon and select the desired project. Now, click on the transfer ownership option available in the top menu.

Alternatively,

STEP

1

Click on Transfer Owner

In the Projects list, click on a desired project and you enter the project page. Now click on the transfer ownership option available in the top menu.

For Runs:

STEP

1

Click on Transfer Owner

Select the "Runs" icon and select the desired run. Now, click on the transfer ownership option available in the top menu.

Alternatively,

STEP

1

Click on Transfer Owner

In the Runs list, click on a desired run and you enter the Runs page. Now click on the transfer ownership option available in the "More" dropdown menu.

STEP

2

Enter Recepient Email

Enter the email address and an optional message addressing the account to which you want to transfer the ownership and hit 'Continue'.

STEP

3

Confirm Transfer

Click on the 'Transfer now' button on the confirmation window once you confirm that all the details are correct.

STEP

4

Success Notification

The 'Transfer Ownership' button changes to 'Pending Transfer' indicating that the other party is yet to accept the invitation to accept the ownsership. Also, notice the confirmation message in green at the top right part of the screen about the transfer of ownership. You can cancel the transfer until the invitation to transfer ownership has not been accepted.

STEP

5

Accept Transfer (Recepient)

The other party gets the notification about the invitation and once it is clicked, a confirmation wondow pops up to confirm if the person is willing to accept the ownership. Once it is accepted, the ownership is permanently transferred.

NOTE

One can always go to "My Account > Transfer History" to review the transfers done/accepted. See How to Cancel transfers.

GitHub

Contribute to this article

Want to edit or suggest changes to this content? You can do so using GitHub.